The Scottish Rite Creed

“Human progress is our cause, liberty of thought our supreme wish, freedom of conscience our mission, and the guarantee of equal rights to all people everywhere our ultimate goal.”

About the Scottish Rite

The Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry is commonly known as the Scottish Rite. It is one of several appendant groups of the worldwide fraternity known as Freemasonry. Each Valley has up to four Scottish Rite bodies, and each body confers a set of degrees. In the Southern Jurisdiction, these are the Lodge of Perfection (4°–14°), Chapter of Rose Croix (15°–18°), Council of Kadosh (19°–30°), and the Consistory (31°–32°). The Supreme Council confers the 33rd Degree of Sovereign Grand Inspector General.

The Scottish Rite is one of the two branches of Freemasonry in which a Master Mason may proceed after he has completed the three degrees of Symbolic or Blue Lodge Masonry. The other branch is known as the York Rite, consisting of Royal Arch Masons, Royal and Select Masters, and the Knights Templar.

For additional information, check out these brochures:

Masonry Beyond the Third Degree

Masonry – A Family Tradition

Scottish Rite of Freemasonry Application:

If you are already a Mason, you may wish to petition for Scottish Rite membership as an expansion and enhancement of your Masonic career. You can, of course, ask a Scottish Rite Mason for a petition. Express your interest, and you will receive a petition along with information regarding the next Scottish Rite Reunion. Here are the forms you will need. You may print these forms and mail or fax them to us.

Click the following link for a Petition for the Scottish Rite Degrees: Scottish_Rite_Petition_2023.pdf